Certification FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Is certification voluntary or required?

A. Certification for CHWs/CHRs in South Dakota is voluntary, however, the certification is required for CHWs/CHRs working for CHW/CHR agencies seeking Medicaid reimbursement through South Dakota Medicaid.

Q. Can an individual who has not completed an approved training program be grandparented in as a CHW/CHR in South Dakota?

A. As certification is a requirement for Medicaid reimbursement, all CHWs/CHRs in South Dakota need to complete an approved training program. While lived experience and previous work experience are important components of being a CHW/CHR, formal training is also needed to validate the profession in South Dakota.

Q. Can a CHW/CHR training from another state be applied to certification in South Dakota?

A. Training programs completed in another state will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis but must meet the minimum training requirements for South Dakota of 200 hours of training and 40 hours of shadowing.

Q. How long does the CHW/CHR Certification Process take?

A. The process typically takes 30-60 days once all required documents for certification have been uploaded to the certification platform.

Q. How does a training curriculum connect with the CHWSD for a curriculum review to become an approved training program?

A. For training programs interested in having a curriculum reviewed to be an approved training program for South Dakota CHWs/CHRs should email [email protected] and indicate “Training Curriculum for Certification Review” in the subject line.

Q. Can a training program that is less than 200 hours and less than 40 hours of shadowing be reviewed as a training curriculum for South Dakota?

A. No. For a training curriculum to be reviewed, the training program must first provide documentation that the training program exceeds the minimum requirements of 200 hours of training and 40 hours of shadowing.

Q. What is the timeframe for a training curriculum to be approved for South Dakota?

A. CHW/CHR training curricula are typically reviewed within 90 days of the complete training curriculum being submitted to the CHWSD.

Q. Can I become a Certified CHW or CHR in South Dakota if I have a felony on my record?

A. Individuals with a felony record will not be able to apply for certification if the felony happened within the last five years or if the felony is a felony against an individual (murder, homicide, or a crime that would place an individual on the National Sex Offender Registry) or a financial felony. For individuals applying for certification with a felony that was greater than five years ago, a letter of explanation may be required.

Q. Where do I send the fingerprint background check to?

A. Send fingerprint background check and payment via check to: Office of the Attorney General, Division of Criminal Investigation, 1302 E. Highway 14, Suite 5, Pierre, SD 57501.

Questions about the application process? Click here.